Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to eyeball08,Wondergirly,bofh,johnstevens77,Bhoddhisatva, for Donating to support the site

New IT Portfolio Wanted...

Closed-end funds and OEICs
OLTB
Lemon Quarter

New IT Portfolio Wanted...

Postby OLTB » December 12th, 2016, 10:44 am

Morning all

I have a lump sum that I wish to designate to an IT portfolio - I have an existing HYP and thought this would be a good alternative to bring an element of 'balance' and diversification away from a share-only portfolio.

I have no experience of setting up a reasonably balanced IT portfolio so was thinking of following John Baron's advice in IC - I subscribe already. I was thinking of allocating the assets in line with his Income Portfolio and re-investing dividends as I see fit but before I do, was wondering if anybody else used any other 'ready-made' solutions?

Thanks, OLTB.

tjh290633
Lemon Half

Re: New IT Portfolio Wanted...

Postby tjh290633 » December 12th, 2016, 11:23 am

Well, there are the two Baskets, defined by Luniversal on TMF, which were B7 and B8 respectively. One (B8) had a higher yield to start with, the other a lower yield but more growth prospects. The Baskets and their source are:

B8
City of London (CTY)
Dunedin Income Growth (DIG)
Edinburgh (EDIN)
Invesco Income Growth (IVI)
Merchants (MRCH)
Murray Income (MUT)
Schroder Income Growth (SCF)
Temple Bar (TMPL)

and

B7
Bankers (BNKR)
F&C Capital and Income (FCI)
JPM Claverhouse (JCH)
Lowland (LWI)
Mercantile (MRC)
Murray International (MYI)
Perpetual Income & Growth (PLI)

http://boards.fool.co.uk/the-baskets-ar ... 07381.aspx

Hope that helps.

TJH

mc2fool
Lemon Half

Postby mc2fool » December 12th, 2016, 11:42 am

Well, firstly, ITs are shares and themselves mostly (although not all) hold shares.