Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to eyeball08,Wondergirly,bofh,johnstevens77,Bhoddhisatva, for Donating to support the site

Euro bank account recommendations

Discussing offers, rates and deals on suppliers
argoal
2 Lemon pips

Euro bank account recommendations

Postby argoal » November 27th, 2017, 2:21 pm

HSBC have recently informed me that they are closing my Euro bank account at the end of January.

I'm not sure if it is the product that they are withdrawing or me specifically that they are dumping. Either way I need to open a new Euro account. I'm a UK resident but have a few small regular Euro payments going into the account and occasionally withdraw euros for trips abroad generally leaving a couple of thousand in the account most of the time.

A euro debit card (which i don't get with my current Euro account) would be useful as would a low or zero monthly charge. An on-line account would be great.

I have been looking at opening an account with KBC Ireland which I believe is reasonably straightforward once I provide the relevant documents to prove my identity.

Does anyone have experience opening a Euro bank account or with KBC Ireland specifically? Is there any Euro account that you would particularly recommend or advise against?

Thanks fools in advance.

youfoolishboy
2 Lemon pips

Re: Euro bank account recommendations

Postby youfoolishboy » November 27th, 2017, 9:34 pm

First Direct are closing my Euro account and have told me to goto HSBC to get an account and am in the process of transfering my current account to HSBC so I can get the foreign currency account open. You must have a current account with HSBC to open a foreign currency acccount. Are you sure its HSBC that's closing your account and not First Direct as my First Direct euro account has HSBC logo on it.

argoal
2 Lemon pips

Postby argoal » November 27th, 2017, 10:30 pm

How weird.