Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to Wasron,jfgw,Rhyd6,eyeball08,Wondergirly, for Donating to support the site

BBLSP1's HYP

For discussion of the practicalities of setting up and operating income-portfolios which follow the HYP Group Guidelines. READ Guidelines before posting
Forum rules
Tight HYP discussions only please - OT please discuss in strategies
BBLSP1
2 Lemon pips

BBLSP1's HYP

Postby BBLSP1 » January 14th, 2019, 3:24 pm

As someone who declared themselves an SL2 (only makes changes to their HYP as a result of corporate actions ) on another thread here. And as someone who gains a great deal of useful information here – idp, arbo, tjh, even the doubting voice of Dod101, plus many others – but due to the constraints of work contributes little, I thought it was time to post my own ‘HYP’.

I have been building it for just over eight years now, and I have never sold a share that was voluntarily purchased. Shares that came my way from corporate actions, e.g. Verizon, Indivior, I have sold, but I view these as corporate action events, not as voluntary sales, as I never wanted these shares in the first place.

There are 24 shares in the portfolio now that Carillion has been removed from it. As the portfolio was built in stages, and is still work in progress, the purchase amounts are not equally weighted, as shown in the table.

So far the HYP is not too distorted, so for now, no changes. However, were it to become like ‘HYP 1’, very heavily dependent on a few shares for income, then I would not rule out some adjustments – in fact it is likely. This has not happened after eight years so far, but of course I have been building, it has not been bought all at once, and to some extent I have probably subconsciously balanced in my purchasing along the way, as noted by the purchase price weighting. It may be that I never move to equally balance the shares in terms of purchase price.