Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to Rhyd6,eyeball08,Wondergirly,bofh,johnstevens77, for Donating to support the site

SIPP Drawdown

yieldhog
Lemon Slice

SIPP Drawdown

Postby yieldhog » November 11th, 2021, 6:51 pm

I've been drawing a fixed amount from my SIPP for at least ten years. Recently, my SIPP provider changed due to a takover event.

The new provider has asked me which "Pot" I would like to continue drawing the fixed amount from my SIPP. In a reply to a question I sent the provider, I got the following answer:

"Typically, but not always, when you do a transfer in from another
provider, if you have crystallised funds within that transfer then this will
create a 2nd pot in addition to the pot that you already hold with .............

I suspect this is the reason why this has happened and why we have asked
for your preference in terms of the pot you would now like your drawdown to
come from."

At this point I have no idea how much is crystallised and how much not but my new provider has promised to identify the two pots so that I can choose which one I draw from. What difference does it make where the drawdown comes from? I would prefer to eliminate this differentiation if possible to simplify my SIPP for my heirs. If one pot is much smaller than the other then maybe I could drawdown that first so that it all gets used up and just leaves the larger pot?

As far as I remember, I took the maximum 25% taxfree lump sum when I first retired and invested the rest to create perpetual income. The fixed drawdown has continued while the fund has grown to currently stand at the highest level it has ever been.

Could anyone explain what the consequences might be for choosing one pot over the other?

Grateful for any clarification on this subject.

Thanks
Y

ursaminortaur
Lemon Half

Re: SIPP Drawdown

Postby ursaminortaur » November 11th, 2021, 9:34 pm