Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to lansdown,Wasron,jfgw,Rhyd6,eyeball08, for Donating to support the site

Non-UK resident + Defined Benefit Plan

grassjumper

Non-UK resident + Defined Benefit Plan

Postby grassjumper » April 4th, 2024, 1:38 am

Just wondering if anyone has been in the same boat as me.

I am a non-UK resident outside of the EEA with money of around £100K in a News International Pension Plan.

The plan's benefits are intended for the purchase of an annuity, and pension draw-down is not supported. The trustees tell me they are not aware of any UK providers offering annuities to non-UK residents which makes it hard to access my money. That leaves the option of transferring the money out. Here my trouble starts:

1) The use of a ROPS (formerly known as QROPS) is one way but finding a local company that can be trusted not to run off with my money would be difficult. Very risky option in my opinion so I'm ruling it out.

2) The alternative is transferring the pension to a UK SIPP but there are two hurdles:
a) The plan contains a guarantee underpin so it's considered DB. The plan's CETV is over £30K therefore getting professional advice is legally required. I tried unbiased.co.uk but no adviser seems interested.
b) There needs to be a UK provider willing to accept the transfer for a non-UK resident. I tried the reputable company Hargreaves Lansdown but they will only consider EEA residents.

Can anyone recommend a good combination of financial adviser and SIPP company for my situation?

modellingman
Lemon Slice

Re: Non-UK resident + Defined Benefit Plan

Postby modellingman » April 4th, 2024, 11:46 am