Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to johnstevens77,Bhoddhisatva,scotia,Anonymous,Cornytiv34, for Donating to support the site

VCT Tax Relief Question

Sophisticated and complex high-risk tax-sensitive investments in small companies: handle with care
Gostevie
2 Lemon pips

VCT Tax Relief Question

Postby Gostevie » June 12th, 2019, 4:06 pm

Although I have been investing in VCTs for many years I have in the past always bought them in the second-hand market. This year for the first time I bought new shares in the latest Albion fundraise and have a question about the upfront tax relief.

I subscribed to the 2018/19 allotment, and when I received the tax certificates at the end of April I sent them to HMRC with a P60 for that tax year and a covering letter requesting the tax relief by cheque or bank transfer as I am a basic rate tax payer, paid via PAYE, and don’t usually fill out a tax return. I followed these instructions from Wealth Club:

https://www.wealthclub.co.uk/venture-ca ... ax-relief/

“If you don’t habitually file a tax return, for instance, if all of your tax is paid at source through PAYE, there is an alternative way to claim VCT tax relief.

You can send your VCT tax certificate, along with a copy of your P60 (if you have one), to your local tax office.

You should then either receive tax relief by way of a PAYE code change, or a tax refund.”

I haven’t heard anything back yet and was wondering if I should chase it up, or if it is normal for it to take a long time. Or should I have done things differently? (I sent the documents to HMRC's BX9 1AS address, which I gather has superseded local tax offices.)

Any thoughts would be much appreciated.

Many thanks,

Gostevie

runnygum
Lemon Pip

Re: VCT Tax Relief Question

Postby runnygum » June 12th, 2019, 4:33 pm

Hopefully you took a copy of the tax certificate from the VCT.