Remove ads

Introducing the LemonFools Personal Finance Calculators

Gaier software

Discussions regarding financial software
granretire
Lemon Pip
Posts: 79
Joined: November 4th, 2016, 7:03 pm
Has thanked: 119 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Gaier software

#110126

Postby granretire » January 13th, 2018, 11:05 am

In the days of Motley Fool an application (Gaier software) to update the prices of shares within MS Money was made available. Recently I have found that running this program results in nearly all the share prices being quoted in pence, not pounds. Just a warning in case a user found that their wealth had suddenly increased :)

ivahunch
Lemon Pip
Posts: 63
Joined: November 13th, 2016, 5:07 pm
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Gaier software

#110244

Postby ivahunch » January 13th, 2018, 5:23 pm

Recently I have found that running this program results in nearly all the share prices being quoted in pence, not pounds.


Yes for me too - I hope it gets resolved!

Sixtyone
Posts: 7
Joined: December 28th, 2017, 7:39 pm
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Gaier software

#110334

Postby Sixtyone » January 13th, 2018, 11:36 pm

Apparent Gaier gets the prices from MSN which in turn uses MorningStar. Dan Gaier has been suggesting users report the issue to Morningstar to encourage them to fix it.

Theres a thread on the social.microsoft.com site.
“Random incorrect [UK]price quotes when using Gaier MS Quotes”

NeilW
Lemon Slice
Posts: 306
Joined: November 4th, 2016, 4:27 pm
Has thanked: 49 times
Been thanked: 65 times

Re: Gaier software

#110363

Postby NeilW » January 14th, 2018, 10:55 am

The problem is Morning star quoting prices incorrectly in GBP (pounds) rather than GBX (pence). The tool then picks those up via MSN.

You can check if they have fixed it by looking at this URL. When you see 'Currency in GBX', we're back to normal.

Until then, the tool is useless.

Thread on Microsoft discussion the issue here

ivahunch
Lemon Pip
Posts: 63
Joined: November 13th, 2016, 5:07 pm
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Gaier software

#110503

Postby ivahunch » January 15th, 2018, 7:06 am

Until then, the tool is useless


Not entirely as the FT portfolo download still seems to work

ivahunch
Lemon Pip
Posts: 63
Joined: November 13th, 2016, 5:07 pm
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Gaier software

#111787

Postby ivahunch » January 19th, 2018, 6:47 am

It would seem to be ok now

granretire
Lemon Pip
Posts: 79
Joined: November 4th, 2016, 7:03 pm
Has thanked: 119 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: Gaier software

#111959

Postby granretire » January 19th, 2018, 7:27 pm

Tried it this afternoon, some prices were still out by 100

TurboukToo2
Posts: 4
Joined: January 22nd, 2018, 10:55 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Gaier software

#112500

Postby TurboukToo2 » January 22nd, 2018, 11:03 am

I've noticed this issue seems to be dependent on time and day you update prices. I don't update on a weekend as they are always out by a factor of 100. I did it just now and only two of 40ish tickers were out. Will check later but I think afternoons before market close is when they all update normally without the 100 times out. Just about usable but clearly needs fixing.

genou
Lemon Slice
Posts: 253
Joined: November 4th, 2016, 1:12 pm
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 52 times

Re: Gaier software

#112629

Postby genou » January 22nd, 2018, 6:52 pm

TurboukToo2 wrote: Just about usable but clearly needs fixing.


It might be worth pointing out that the error is not in MSMoneyquotes - it is in the data supplied to it via MSN. There have been changes on price reporting after MIFID2, I believe, and the errors are linked to this.

gbjbaanb
Lemon Slice
Posts: 405
Joined: November 4th, 2016, 1:17 pm
Has thanked: 87 times
Been thanked: 53 times

Re: Gaier software

#112832

Postby gbjbaanb » January 23rd, 2018, 4:44 pm

Been noted, the problem comes from morningstar that has obviously cocked something up in their update over the new year to support MIFID.

https://social.microsoft.com/Forums/en- ... orum=money

Dan has put a workaround into the quote lookup symbol map, so you can force a currency to be used.

Sixtyone
Posts: 7
Joined: December 28th, 2017, 7:39 pm
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Gaier software

#113717

Postby Sixtyone » January 27th, 2018, 6:35 pm

Dan released ver 2.3 today, all working OK for me now.

ivahunch
Lemon Pip
Posts: 63
Joined: November 13th, 2016, 5:07 pm
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Gaier software

#116139

Postby ivahunch » February 6th, 2018, 2:25 pm

Dan released ver 2.3 today, all working OK for me now.


I have tried adding GBX in SymbolMap. So please could someone confirm that Dan means the "extra column" in SymbolMap (for GBX) is the next column to the right in the same row as the security

genou
Lemon Slice
Posts: 253
Joined: November 4th, 2016, 1:12 pm
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 52 times

Re: Gaier software

#116144

Postby genou » February 6th, 2018, 2:40 pm

ivahunch wrote:
Dan released ver 2.3 today, all working OK for me now.


I have tried adding GBX in SymbolMap. So please could someone confirm that Dan means the "extra column" in SymbolMap (for GBX) is the next column to the right in the same row as the security


e.g.
APAX,151.1.APAX.LON,GBX

ivahunch
Lemon Pip
Posts: 63
Joined: November 13th, 2016, 5:07 pm
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Gaier software

#116197

Postby ivahunch » February 6th, 2018, 7:28 pm

e.g.
APAX,151.1.APAX.LON,GBX


I have inserted "GBX" into the adjacent column in the same row as the mispriced security and then saved the file as SymbolMap.csv. But MoneyQuotes is showing SymbolMap is still resolving the prices as GPB. Any ideas where I'm going wrong please?

genou
Lemon Slice
Posts: 253
Joined: November 4th, 2016, 1:12 pm
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 52 times

Re: Gaier software

#116226

Postby genou » February 6th, 2018, 9:46 pm

ivahunch wrote:
e.g.
APAX,151.1.APAX.LON,GBX


I have inserted "GBX" into the adjacent column in the same row as the mispriced security and then saved the file as SymbolMap.csv. But MoneyQuotes is showing SymbolMap is still resolving the prices as GPB. Any ideas where I'm going wrong please?


Check where Excel is saving the edited file for you - the CSV needs to be in the same folder as the EXE. If it is, open the CSV with a simple text editor like Notepad and see if Excel is doing something you didn't ask/expect it to do.

ivahunch
Lemon Pip
Posts: 63
Joined: November 13th, 2016, 5:07 pm
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Gaier software

#116231

Postby ivahunch » February 6th, 2018, 10:21 pm

If it is, open the CSV with a simple text editor like Notepad and see if Excel is doing something you didn't ask/expect it to do.


Yes - indeed - it was putting 2 commas at the end of the 2nd column. So all I need now is for the prices to increase just a bit!

TurboukToo2
Posts: 4
Joined: January 22nd, 2018, 10:55 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Gaier software

#144264

Postby TurboukToo2 » June 7th, 2018, 10:03 am

I've persevered with Gaiersoft for MS Money and as of the last couple of weeks its pulling in prices correctly in MS Money during both trading hours and closed hours. No corrections on my part required. I have approx 40 positions across single shares and ETFs. Data source fixed maybe?

ivahunch
Lemon Pip
Posts: 63
Joined: November 13th, 2016, 5:07 pm
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Gaier software

#162365

Postby ivahunch » August 27th, 2018, 10:08 am

Data source fixed maybe?

If so - that's good news. But I haven't removed any of my "GBX workarounds" yet - so I can't confirm.

gbjbaanb
Lemon Slice
Posts: 405
Joined: November 4th, 2016, 1:17 pm
Has thanked: 87 times
Been thanked: 53 times

Re: Gaier software

#164847

Postby gbjbaanb » September 7th, 2018, 10:45 am

I have, and it is working fine. Morningstar got there eventually.

ivahunch
Lemon Pip
Posts: 63
Joined: November 13th, 2016, 5:07 pm
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Gaier software

#169088

Postby ivahunch » September 26th, 2018, 10:08 am

Is anyone else unable to retrieve prices for an increasing number of funds via MSN?
Prices for stocks are retrieving ok and "symbolmap" is also resolving symbols ok for funds - but I am now increasingly getting "invalid quote data" error for most funds.
But fund prices do still seem to be mostly available on MSNmoney
And prices are retrieving fine for all via FT.com

So does anyone have any ideas how to resolve this issue?


Return to “Financial Software - Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest