Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to Rhyd6,eyeball08,Wondergirly,bofh,johnstevens77, for Donating to support the site

Your Pension

A virtual pub for off topic, light hearted pub related banter and discussion. No trainers
Howyoudoin
Lemon Quarter

Your Pension

Postby Howyoudoin » June 8th, 2018, 9:04 pm

Evening Snuggers,

I didn't really want to talk about work but sometimes events take over.

Today, I was told, i'm not going to get a pay rise over inflation because my pension is too high.

By 'high' read 16% non-contributory of my salary now that I've been working for the company for over 15 years.

Bearing in mind my years of service, what are other working Snuggers getting in their pension?

I remember when I started work in the late 80s, everyone was on a Final Salary Scheme. The maximum pension you could get was 40/60, so 66.6%.

Therefore, if your salary was £50,000 when you retired, and you had done 40 years service, you would get a pension of £33,333 a year for the rest of your life. I can only dream of that now.

Thanks for any input and have a good weekend all,

HYD

nimnarb
Lemon Quarter

Re: Your Pension

Postby nimnarb » June 8th, 2018, 10:35 pm

There's also a Pension Board and a Retirement board here HYD.....might get some good replies there?

Howyoudoin
Lemon Quarter

Postby Howyoudoin » June 9th, 2018, 12:15 am

nimnarb wrote:There's also a Pension Board and a Retirement board here HYD.....might get some good replies there?

I used to like the old Snug, when it first started back at TMF, cos we could talk about pretty much anything, much like you'd do in any pub in the Country.

Then, people started saying, "there's a dedicated board for that, why don't you go over there?'

And other people used to say, 'what's the point of a pub/snug if everyone is going to ask us to post elsewhere?'