Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to gpadsa,Steffers0,lansdown,Wasron,jfgw, for Donating to support the site

Who has seen a kingfisher?

A virtual pub for off topic, light hearted pub related banter and discussion. No trainers
redsturgeon
Lemon Half

Who has seen a kingfisher?

Postby redsturgeon » January 23rd, 2024, 4:31 pm

Yesterday on one of my daily dog walks along the water meadows I met a chap carrying a camera with the longest lens I have seen, it must have been close to 18 inches. He must be a bird spotter I mused and this was verified when I engaged him in conversation.

I asked him if he had seen anything interesting that day and he said not, so I raised the subject of kingfishers. I have seen a few bird spotter types over the years walking these meadows and they have often told me of the kingfishers they have seen.

Now I have been walking these water meadows everyday for nearly 20 years and I told him I had never seen one of these beautiful but elusive birds. He replied that they were often to be seen at this very spot. I said I would keep my eyes open in future.

So today at that very spot this is what I saw. Apologies for the small size and poor quality but I was not in possession of the same level of equipment that the chap was carrying yesterday!

Breelander
Lemon Quarter

Re: Who has seen a kingfisher?

Postby Breelander » January 23rd, 2024, 4:39 pm

redsturgeon wrote:Yesterday on one of my daily dog walks along the water meadows I met a chap carrying a camera with the longest lens I have seen, it must have been close to 18 inches. He must be a bird spotter I mused and this was verified when I engaged him in conversation.

I asked him if he had seen anything interesting that day and he said not, so I raised the subject of kingfishers. I have seen a few bird spotter types over the years walking these meadows and they have often told me of the kingfishers they have seen.