Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to Rhyd6,eyeball08,Wondergirly,bofh,johnstevens77, for Donating to support the site

A start

Including Financial Independence and Retiring Early (FIRE)
AsleepInYorkshire
Lemon Half

A start

Postby AsleepInYorkshire » March 10th, 2019, 9:59 am

Hello

I am not entirely sure where to start. I will be 57 at my next birthday. On the same day, my daughter, an only child, will be 12. I am not married and I mention this as I suspect it will play a part in some of the decisions I will make over the coming months and years.

I work in construction as a Quantity Surveyor/Commercial Manager and my partner is a librarian and she is 52 at her next birthday. We have lived in our current home for 25 years since we were fortunate enough to buy it new.

However, all has not be idyllic in our world. I've not been too well. My symptoms started when I was about 13 and have become progressively worse until I was correctly diagnosed two years ago. With new treatment I am in a different world and I anticipate I will see the latter part of my life out in some security. To say I am rebuilding my life really doesn't convey what I have to get through to sort all my financial problems out. I don't want to linger on my illness. I can't change the past. My undiagnosed and incorrectly treated condition manifest itself around huge rem sleep deprivation. My ability to function rationally at any level was severely compromised. That has not been aided by an inconsistent income stream.

My planning for retirement has suffered and I need to focus upon a remedy.

I have a plan.