Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to Wasron,jfgw,Rhyd6,eyeball08,Wondergirly, for Donating to support the site

View sought

Including Financial Independence and Retiring Early (FIRE)
denimchunky

View sought

Postby denimchunky » February 8th, 2024, 3:22 pm

I have just come back to this site having been a regular lurker on TMF in the day. I have found the discussions on this board in particular quite helpful.

I have been pondering when I would be able to retire for a couple of years now. I am 53 and my wife is 50. She is a GP and therefore has a great pension which we had review recently. She works 3 days a week and the plan is to drop that to 2 days a week by the time she is 55 (maybe sooner), with final retirement at 60. Estimated pension at that point is probably £55k per annum.

I have a DC pension worth circa £650k which I am currently adding just under £60k per year to.

Have about £170k in cash.
Between us £210k in ISAs
I have an offshore Investment Bond worth £210k
We have a joint GIA worth £168k which we are gradually converting into ISAs.
We have a family trust of which me and the children are beneficiaries worth around £650k

When I look at it on paper, we have net family wealth of over £2m, excluding our house and my wife's pension and I think that it should be possible for me to retire shortly.

My biggest concern is that our children are still relatively young (17, 15 and 13). My eldest will want to go university next year and he wants to take a course which lasts 5 or 6 years. My daughter (15) also aspires to a top university, albeit thankfully only a three year course. Not so sure about my youngest, he may want to go straight for a job at 18.