Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to johnstevens77,Bhoddhisatva,scotia,Anonymous,Cornytiv34, for Donating to support the site

Investing in software and IT, e.g. Softcat, Sophos, Saas

Discuss Stock buying Shares, tips and ideas for stock market dealing
TheMotorcycleBoy
Lemon Quarter

Investing in software and IT, e.g. Softcat, Sophos, Saas

Postby TheMotorcycleBoy » June 9th, 2019, 2:44 pm

Hi Folks,

I wanted to write a few words about investments in (mainly) software (and providers of related services) firms. Despite being a Computer Programmer by profession since the early 90s, we don't actually have any s/w firm shares in our portfolio. I'm not sure why, since clearly computing represents a major sector. Perhaps it's because having worked in the field I'm naturally sceptical - indeed me and colleagues used to often refer to "Vapourware", i.e. touted software ideas, described as being revolutionary, but never actually getting to market. I certainly know of several failed projects being canned sometimes very close to completion. When I first started investing I did briefly research Microfocus (MCRO), which I didn't like the look of much, due to looking like a "serial acquirer", and being very put off by some of it's acquistions (e.g. HPE/autonomy). Also looked at Sage (SGE), and at the time was put off, but in hindsight maybe should have taken the plunge back in the summer of '18.

So I have started to look at a couple of other software firms in the last few days (though I'd certainly appreciate any additional suggestions). I looked firstly at Softcat (SCT). This firm it seems is not actually a software producer (i.e. I don't think they design and write much s/w themselves), but they are more an "IT solutions provider", in other words they resell s/w and h/w, and also provide services in integrating various offerings into their customers enterprise.