Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to johnstevens77,Bhoddhisatva,scotia,Anonymous,Cornytiv34, for Donating to support the site

Walker Greenbank plc (WGB)

Discuss Stock buying Shares, tips and ideas for stock market dealing
Pipsmum
Lemon Slice

Walker Greenbank plc (WGB)

Postby Pipsmum » November 19th, 2017, 5:19 pm

This seems like a mighty big SP slump for a 10% profit forecast loss. The going seemed good according to the reports surrounding it. Interesting. I bought just a few just for share fiddling interest. Might be a falling knife but it doesn't look quite like it to my rather novice eye. It'll be interesting to see what you experts think to this sort of plunge line.

Lootman
The full Lemon

Re: Walker Greenbank plc (WGB)

Postby Lootman » November 19th, 2017, 6:37 pm

I'm no expert on WGB but I have held it for a few years. This drop takes it back to about the level where I bought it. So I am fairly sanguine about it - it went up and then it went down.

It's in my AIM IHT portfolio so I rarely look at its price. As one of about 20 AIM shares held, I expect some winners and losers. I mostly let them do what they will, and often don't check their share price for months at a time.

WickedLester
Lemon Slice

Postby WickedLester » November 25th, 2017, 1:27 pm

I originally bought WGB for about 30p back in the Gyllenhammar days. It's good to see their progress since. I thought they were too expensive over £2 but think they are starting to look a lot more attractive for recovery.

It seems that at the moment that anything consumer spending related is being hammered, maybe justly, but I think this is going to throw up opportunities for recovery in a few years time and quality companies such as WGB could benefit.

I don't currently have too much exposure to consumer spending, just a small DEB holding which despite the ADVFN thread I don't think will go broke and i've always liked the shops.