Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to johnstevens77,Bhoddhisatva,scotia,Anonymous,Cornytiv34, for Donating to support the site

Ride-hailing apps in London?

London Locals helping visitors and locals alike
Julian
Lemon Quarter

Ride-hailing apps in London?

Postby Julian » September 22nd, 2017, 12:08 pm

It looks as if Uber might be about to disappear from London (http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-41358640).

What other ride hailing apps are there covering the Greater London area (e.g. covering not only inner London but also the London bits of Surrey & Middlesex, Heathrow, etc) that are also cashless, i.e. allow one to set up a credit card for the fare to be charged to.

I know of Hailo but unless things have changed that's tied to london black cabs I think and I've always found them extremely expensive and sometimes quite hostile when picking up and finding that it's going to be a short trip. I've had some horrible experiences being picked up at Heathrow in the past. (I tried to look at the Hailo site but my computer anti virus software is telling me that it's a dangerous site and won't let me look at it!)

- Julian

Slarti
Lemon Quarter

Re: Ride-hailing apps in London?

Postby Slarti » September 22nd, 2017, 1:03 pm

PinkDalek
Lemon Half

Postby PinkDalek » September 22nd, 2017, 1:53 pm

Julian wrote:It looks as if Uber might be about to disappear from London (http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-41358640).

I've read elsewhere that, given their intention to appeal, the report of their demise is somewhat premature, in that the appeal process will take many months.

Clitheroekid
Lemon Quarter

Postby Clitheroekid » September 22nd, 2017, 3:01 pm