Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to johnstevens77,Bhoddhisatva,scotia,Anonymous,Cornytiv34, for Donating to support the site

Conditional cell background colour on LibreOffice calc spreadsheet

Seek assistance with all types of tech. - computer, phone, TV, heating controls etc.
TheMotorcycleBoy
Lemon Quarter

Conditional cell background colour on LibreOffice calc spreadsheet

Postby TheMotorcycleBoy » June 8th, 2018, 7:12 pm

We use Linux at home, and are attempting to put together a generic spread sheet for us to value/research a company's worth.

On my PC I use LibreOffice Calc (version 4.2) as the spreadsheet program. Despite being a computer programmer by profession, I'm very green when it comes to spreadsheet manipulation.

After getting the sums to work on the sheet, what I now want to do, is colour particular cells as a part of a "traffic light" system, i.e. green for a "go for it" value, and red for "don't touch with a barge pole" warning. I found this quite easy to do for distinct cells, i.e. by using creating new "styles" for the background colours (via Format -> Style and Formatting -> New) and then to associate a colour (i.e. style) and a satisfied condition (Format -> Conditional Formatting -> Condition).

But it would seem to me, that in order to arrange the colour of one cell is condition on a relationship of it's value compared to the value of another seems to require a less trivial piece of functionality (VBA macro code, perhaps?).

As an example how would I colour cell C5 green if it's value is at least twice that of the value in cell C3?

Any guidance to whether a VBA macro is the way forward here, and if so how to code it, and then associate that code with the cell (to be coloured) would be a great help.