Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to johnstevens77,Bhoddhisatva,scotia,Anonymous,Cornytiv34, for Donating to support the site

Mac OS Mojave

Seek assistance with all types of tech. - computer, phone, TV, heating controls etc.
Devjon
2 Lemon pips

Mac OS Mojave

Postby Devjon » September 10th, 2018, 4:37 pm

I have been participating in the Mac beta software Programme for several years ( you get early versions of the next proposed OS update )
When the betas for Mac OS Mojave became available I got a message that my iMac would not be getting the update as it was considered too old.
I have a late 2010 iMac with a 2.9ghz Intel i7 processor with 16GB of RAM, a 256GB SSD Drive and a 1TB mechanical drive.

I'm a bit mystified as to why my machine is deemed unsuitable, is the Processor really that slow compared to a recent Mac computer?

scotia
Lemon Quarter

Re: Mac OS Mojave

Postby scotia » September 10th, 2018, 4:50 pm

Ouch! If it needs something bigger and faster than your current machine, it certainly seems to be heading to the top of the bloat stakes.
Or is it possible it needs some additional piece of hardware that Apple have included in more modern machines?

Breelander
Lemon Quarter

Postby Breelander » September 10th, 2018, 5:01 pm

Devjon wrote:I have a late 2010 iMac with a 2.9ghz Intel i7 processor...

It doesn't seem to be the processor that's the problem (maybe it's the GPU?). Some of those listed as compatible do use an i7. Unfortunately for an iMac it's...
Apple wrote:iMac models introduced in late 2012 or later
https://support.apple.com/en-gb/macos/mojave

So that may give you a clue. What changed in the iMac spec in late 2012?
Last edited by Breelander on September 10th, 2018, 5:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Infrasonic
Lemon Quarter

Postby Infrasonic » September 10th, 2018, 5:03 pm

Maybe it's support for the latest video standards and the like?