Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to Rhyd6,eyeball08,Wondergirly,bofh,johnstevens77, for Donating to support the site

Date manipulations using libre office calc

Seek assistance with all types of tech. - computer, phone, TV, heating controls etc.
GrahamPlatt
Lemon Quarter

Date manipulations using libre office calc

Postby GrahamPlatt » January 9th, 2021, 3:35 pm

Hi, wonder if anyone can help here. I’m trying to merge two columns for sorting. One has dates as e.g 20181231 and the other 31/12/2018. I’m on v. 6.4.6.2 and find on t’web that there should be a function CDateFromIso() which can convert former to latter, but all I get is #NAME? The function is not listed in the date & time functions in the program itself.

modellingman
Lemon Slice

Re: Date manipulations using libre office calc

Postby modellingman » January 9th, 2021, 4:30 pm

I'm not an expert on Libre Office, but a quick Google on the function name suggests that it is not a worksheet function but a function available in the basic programming language used for macros.

In Excel, my approach would be to convert yyyymmdd into a string (text), use the LEFT(), MID() and RIGHT() worksheet functions to get the year, month and day parts. Convert these back to numbers, and then use the DATE() function to create the date. Other approaches are, no doubt, available.
Last edited by modellingman on January 9th, 2021, 4:32 pm, edited 2 times in total.

johnhemming
Lemon Quarter

Postby johnhemming » January 9th, 2021, 4:31 pm

I use open office from time to time and have had a copy of Libre office as well, but I don't know the detailed answer. There probably is a solution with string processing, however.

modellingman
Lemon Slice

Postby modellingman » January 9th, 2021, 5:06 pm