Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to eyeball08,Wondergirly,bofh,johnstevens77,Bhoddhisatva, for Donating to support the site

Self tappers or rawlplugs?

Does what it says on the tin
Imbiber
Lemon Slice

Re: Self tappers or rawlplugs?

Postby Imbiber » March 30th, 2018, 1:56 pm

I would go with the self tappers, if they fail you still have the option of drilling a larger hole for the cavity fixings. Having said that I have no knowledge of the internal construction of UPVC doors.

Mick

Devjon
2 Lemon pips

Postby Devjon » March 30th, 2018, 2:00 pm

Hello Snorvey,

Just a thought, before you start drilling take a look at the range of "Command Strips" they come in a range of sizes and strengths.

I have a wall clock attached to the wall, and some large 2' x 3' framed posters which have been on the wall for a couple of years.
The beauty of them is that they are really easy to remove without leaving any marks when redecorating.

I know that a cage letterbox is nothing like a Picture / clock, but I also used them to hold up some quite heavy wooden slat venetian blinds to avoid drilling in to the brickwork around the window frame. They have been up for a few years now and have stood up to opening and closing, tugging the cords etc without problem.

Devjon

EDIT Ninjad by itsallaguess!
Last edited by Devjon on March 30th, 2018, 2:02 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Itsallaguess
Lemon Half

Postby Itsallaguess » March 30th, 2018, 2:00 pm

Snorvey wrote:
I need to fit a wire cage at the back of my mums letter box because she's having trouble bending down to pick the junk mail etc that comes through the door.

So a got one from the local DIY shed, but now I'm wondering how to fit it to her UPVC door. Some youtube vids advocate self tapping screws but I was considering standard cavity rawlplugs dipped in some white mastic to seal the drillholes.

Any thoughts?

Do you have to screw into the door to support it?