Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to bruncher,niord,gvonge,Shelford,GrahamPlatt, for Donating to support the site

Buying property that requires updating etc

Does what it says on the tin
CaptainJ

Buying property that requires updating etc

Postby CaptainJ » November 8th, 2016, 6:20 pm

Spotted a really nice house that needed a lot of work on it but going at a price I could afford.
I am not savvy but if I am viewing a house that required modernisation what things should I be looking for to avoid buying a disaster please?
Might attend a few auctions to get a feel for things but if anyone fancies imparting some knowledge on a complete novice that would be great.
With thanks

redsturgeon
Lemon Half

Re: Buying property that requires updating etc

Postby redsturgeon » November 8th, 2016, 7:17 pm

As a novice then I'd suggest you take a good builder round with you, who will be able to point out what needs doing and what is sound and give you some idea of costs.

Structural things like settlement, dry and wet rot, damp and roof problems can be very expensive. Boilers, CH, plumbing and electrics can also eat up the cash. Rotten windows and doors can be fixed or replaced but again can eat up the cash. Kitchens and bathrooms are the expensive rooms to update.

John

WandleHens

Postby WandleHens » November 8th, 2016, 7:19 pm

CaptainJ wrote:Spotted a really nice house that needed a lot of work on it but going at a price I could afford.
I am not savvy but if I am viewing a house that required modernisation what things should I be looking for to avoid buying a disaster please?