Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to Wasron,jfgw,Rhyd6,eyeball08,Wondergirly, for Donating to support the site

Replacing fluorescent tube with LED

Does what it says on the tin
MyNameIsUrl
Lemon Slice

Replacing fluorescent tube with LED

Postby MyNameIsUrl » October 13th, 2023, 12:22 pm

I can’t get the new LED tube to work. I’ve replaced the starter with a ‘LED fuse’. I’ve opened up the fitting to check if that’s faulty but as far as I can tell there is voltage where I would expect it to be, although I don’t understand the need for 4 terminals.

Now I’ve just noticed the new LED tube has L and N marked at one end, so I’ve tried it in every orientation but still not working. Do I need to rewire the fitting? Have I bought the wrong tube?

Laughton
Lemon Slice

Re: Replacing fluorescent tube with LED

Postby Laughton » October 13th, 2023, 12:53 pm

Bear in mind that I'm not an electrician but when you say a new LED tube, do you mean you've bought an LED tube that is designed to fit into your existing fluoresent light fitting?

I fairly recently replaced all (12) fluoresent lights in our garage and lofts with all in one LED light fittings (I think they're called battens). They look nicer, give off much more light, fitting was super simple and hopefully much cheaper to run.

The ones I used are no longer available but similar, I think, to these (other makes and models are available): -

https://www.screwfix.com/p/lap-single-5 ... 240v/667pp

MyNameIsUrl
Lemon Slice

Postby MyNameIsUrl » October 13th, 2023, 1:22 pm

Laughton wrote:Bear in mind that I'm not an electrician but when you say a new LED tube, do you mean you've bought an LED tube that is designed to fit into your existing fluoresent light fitting?

Yes, that's it exactly. The old fluorescent tube flickered and flashed and one end of the glass was blackened, so I wanted to replace it with a LED tube which uses less energy.

eepee
Lemon Slice