Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to Rhyd6,eyeball08,Wondergirly,bofh,johnstevens77, for Donating to support the site

National insurance when student

Practical Issues
Callum1x

National insurance when student

Postby Callum1x » March 20th, 2019, 7:49 pm

I am a 17 year old student who is in full time education at 6th form and I additionally work part time at Tesco and am being charged NI contributions of around £40 per month.I am expected to earn £7500 by the end of this tax year should I be paying national insurance contributions even when I am still in full time education.

PinkDalek
Lemon Half

Re: National insurance when student

Postby PinkDalek » March 20th, 2019, 8:23 pm

Hello Callum

Welcome to the (new) Fool.

The fact that you are a full time student doesn’t, in itself, exclude you from being liable to National Insurance etc.

You can use the HMRC calculator here http://nicecalculator.hmrc.gov.uk/Class1NICs1.aspx which confirms you should be under the limit for NI deductions at your level of monthly earnings (if about £625 each month). Also see https://www.gov.uk/national-insurance-rates-letters.

Are your monthly earnings constantly in the region of £625 per calendar month or might you earn substantially in excess of that in certain months (which could push you over the limit in those months).

PD

Callum1x

Postby Callum1x » March 20th, 2019, 8:27 pm

Thanks for replying PD

It can vary , in busy periods such as Easter and Christmas I could earn up to £1000 in a monthly period due to the increase in hours but on average I would say around 750-850 a month.

Callum

mearnsfool
2 Lemon pips

Postby mearnsfool » March 20th, 2019, 8:49 pm

NI is not a nice tax in that if you pay too much in December, you get it back over the year as in income tax.

If you have one great month say December and earn £1,000 that month, you pay NI, say £36.