Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to Rhyd6,eyeball08,Wondergirly,bofh,johnstevens77, for Donating to support the site

accumulator ETF withholding tax?

Practical Issues
umeca74

accumulator ETF withholding tax?

Postby umeca74 » December 19th, 2020, 8:07 am

Hi, investment noob here!

I am about to open a SAXO account and buy in some global ETF (equity) for long term holding. Simple stuff
I wonder if I can somehow minimize the "withholding tax" for dividends. If I buy ETFs that are accumulators (they don't generate any income), do I still lose (up to) 30% on US based ETFs? I suppose dividend is paid somewhere before it is reinvested in accumulator types.

or I shouldn't really worry about this as growth basically comes from the stock price appraisal instead of dividends?
thanks
Nikos

TedSwippet
Lemon Slice

Re: accumulator ETF withholding tax?

Postby TedSwippet » December 19th, 2020, 10:31 am

umeca74 wrote:I wonder if I can somehow minimize the "withholding tax" for dividends. If I buy ETFs that are accumulators (they don't generate any income), do I still lose (up to) 30% on US based ETFs? I suppose dividend is paid somewhere before it is reinvested in accumulator types.

From past posts, it appears that you are resident in Cyprus. Assuming this, you should be able to file a W-8BEN form with Saxo, giving you the 15% US/Cyprus tax treaty rate on dividends from US stocks and US domiciled ETFs.