Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to Wasron,jfgw,Rhyd6,eyeball08,Wondergirly, for Donating to support the site

Technology IT's, - Buying Opportunity?

Closed-end funds and OEICs
EssDeeAitch
Lemon Slice

Technology IT's, - Buying Opportunity?

Postby EssDeeAitch » October 16th, 2018, 7:52 am

I have an imbalance in my IT portfolio and would like to correct it. To do this now, I could sell some IT's which have dropped in value but then buy others which have dropped by more.

Technology heavy IT's have fallen most and I wondered if there was any opinion if this presented a buying (or rather swapping) opportunity.

Top up candidates
SCOTTISH MORTGAGE INVESTMENT -10.7% (in last month)
ALLIANZ TECHNOLOGY -13.1% "
EDINBURGH WORLDWIDE INVESTMENT -16.5% "

There is not as much top holdings crossover as one may imagine, only Amazon and Tesla being held by two, and no company is held by all three IT's (using data from their top 10 holdings). Geographic spread is as expected US dominant with 57% and then China and UK at 9.5% and 7.3% respectively (although this is probably less important as sector spread).

The IT's which I could sell are
FOREIGN & COLONIAL - 6.5% (in last month)
FIDELITY SPECIAL VALUES -5.9% "
MID WYND INTERNATIONAL -7.9% "
WITAN -7.3% "

I am really uncertain if I should adopt the old maxim "Don't do something, just stand there" or take action. Any comment would be appreciated (except criticism of the whole basket of IT's - I have critisised myself enough on this :? )

tjh290633
Lemon Half

Re: Technology IT's, - Buying Opportunity?

Postby tjh290633 » October 16th, 2018, 10:05 am

In your situation I would not be concerned about the market movements, but more concerned about imbalance.