Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to eyeball08,Wondergirly,bofh,johnstevens77,Bhoddhisatva, for Donating to support the site

Woodford Patient Capital - Why?

Closed-end funds and OEICs
EssDeeAitch
Lemon Slice

Woodford Patient Capital - Why?

Postby EssDeeAitch » November 3rd, 2018, 8:21 am

Just read a piece on WPCT in the Trusts section of Money Observer and I wondered who would buy this trust and why? Not a snide remark at all, I am new to self investing and am just trying to understand what motivates people into certain investments. In this case, returns have been negative (last six months has been positive though) and there is no yield at all. The word "Patient" in the name makes me wonder as well; how patient?

Does anyone see a really strong upside to this trust and what part of a portfolio would this play?

Itsallaguess
Lemon Half

Re: Woodford Patient Capital - Why?

Postby Itsallaguess » November 3rd, 2018, 9:05 am

EssDeeAitch wrote:
Just read a piece on WPCT in the Trusts section of Money Observer and I wondered who would buy this trust and why?

Not a snide remark at all, I am new to self investing and am just trying to understand what motivates people into certain investments. In this case, returns have been negative (last six months has been positive though) and there is no yield at all. The word "Patient" in the name makes me wonder as well; how patient?

Does anyone see a really strong upside to this trust and what part of a portfolio would this play?

This isn't a trust that I've got any experience of, but I think some of the above might be answered by the Trust itself, which says on it's website -

Woodford Patient Capital Trust - Championing growth and supporting the best of British

A uniquely attractive investment