Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to gpadsa,Steffers0,lansdown,Wasron,jfgw, for Donating to support the site

Investment advice to adult children

Closed-end funds and OEICs
Leither
Lemon Slice

Investment advice to adult children

Postby Leither » October 14th, 2017, 4:58 pm

We've been gifting sizeable sums of cash to our children for some time. One of them is now mortgage free and I'd like to offer some investment advice, although I'm wary of doing so. Our own HYP shares and ITs have done fairly well over the years but then I'm a finance professional (retired) and the children aren't.

Clearly first priority is what they want to with the cash, ie available to move house in X years, their children's further education etc etc but assuming they want to invest for at least five years, I had started preparing a list of hopefully safe & boring ITs like Foreign & Colonial, Scottish Mortgage etc but then the Vanguard LifeStrategy 80% Equity fund caught my eye. I already have some cash in one of Vanguard's global ETFs. It seems to me that this would be an even simpler choice than a selection of ITs and probably just as likely to safeguard capital (the key requirement).

Any views would be much appreciated.

Regards,

Leither.

GJHarney
Lemon Slice

Re: Investment advice to adult children

Postby GJHarney » October 14th, 2017, 6:37 pm

Hard to say not knowing them. Most people are not particularly interested in finance/investment matters, but most want to protect what money they have and have more in the future (go figure). The trade off is in the suggestions you have in mind, some generalist IT's or the Vanguard 80/20.