Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to Wasron,jfgw,Rhyd6,eyeball08,Wondergirly, for Donating to support the site

Rebranding the London Overground

Passion, instruction, buying, care, maintenance and more, any form of vehicle discussion is welcome here
JohnB
Lemon Quarter

Rebranding the London Overground

Postby JohnB » February 15th, 2024, 9:30 am

With the rebranding of the bits of the Overground, whats your order of names, best to worst.

1 Mildmay - inoffensive, but so, so obscure
2 Weaver - at least as a London expert I've heard of the Huguenots and the East End rag trade, or is in the Merseyside metro
3 Windrush - but its a river in Oxfordshire
4 Sufragette - No idea where in the UK they lived
5 Liberty - could be anywhere, forgotten already
6 Lioness - based on a temporary sporting success

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-london-68296483

orangepekoe

Re: Rebranding the London Overground

Postby orangepekoe » February 15th, 2024, 9:47 am

I'm still calling the one that goes to Kew Gardens 'the North London Line'. Looks like it's now the Mildmay line but i doubt I'll remember that.

the0ni0nking
Lemon Slice

Postby the0ni0nking » February 15th, 2024, 9:53 am

I could have rebadged them for a lot cheaper than £6.3m

mc2fool
Lemon Half

Postby mc2fool » February 15th, 2024, 10:29 am

Beh, well half of them are just end-to-end straight lines, so the most obvious and clear naming for those would be the Gospel Oak - Barking, Euston - Watford and Romford - Upminster lines.

The one coming out of Liverpool Street could be shown as two lines, as it splits after the first station, and one of those is also a straight line, Liverpool Street - Chingford. That'd leave two lines with forks, Liverpool Street to Cheshunt/Enfield Town and Stratford to Richmond/Clapham Junction, and the multi-fork line that goes through Canada Water....