Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to eyeball08,Wondergirly,bofh,johnstevens77,Bhoddhisatva, for Donating to support the site

Wildlife meadows

wildlife, gardening, environment, Rural living, Pets and Vets
Sorcery
Lemon Quarter

Wildlife meadows

Postby Sorcery » July 14th, 2019, 11:54 pm

Did anyone see Gardeners world on Friday 12th July at 21:00?
All about creating wild spaces in gardens for wildflowers.
Not sure the program was meant to be intentionally funny but that's how it came across to me, but bear in mind I am an untutored amateur of about six years.
The first 2/3 meadows & gardens were how I understand wild meadows, packed with lots of varieties.

Then one that had me laughing afterwards. An oldish retired fella had volunteered for the task of restoring wild flowers to 60 acres of calcareous grassland. He had been doing it unpaid for 17 years. As far as one could tell he had been planting cowslips only. End result grass + lots of cowslips. Good for the cowslips I suppose but why restrict yourself to that? There are loads of wild plants that are suited to chalky soils. Perhaps everyone is afraid to tell him? ...

Moving on we were introduced to one of Prince Charles meadows. I counted 3 varieties of wild flowers (apart from grasses), Greater Knapweed, Ox eye daisies + something else. Just three! There are more varieties in most fields kept for pasture. It's possible I suppose that there were more varieties hidden beneath the long grass but still. It's almost as if he wanted only varieties that arrived naturally, that's very purist & restrictive though, why not introduce species that would suit the soil for the meadow.

Anyway did not intend to restrict this thread to the TV program, just thought it might be interesting to some to watch on catchup if they were interested.

A very brief introduction to how I got involved follows :