Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to eyeball08,Wondergirly,bofh,johnstevens77,Bhoddhisatva, for Donating to support the site

Horse Manure

wildlife, gardening, environment, Rural living, Pets and Vets
neversay
Lemon Slice

Horse Manure

Postby neversay » October 24th, 2017, 2:34 pm

I have received a few bags of horse manure for the garden and thought I could just throw them on the vegetable patch (and around the raspberry/fruit bushes) over winter. However, I'm variously reading that it should be composted first. Can I quickly ask what others would do?

Gengulphus
Lemon Quarter

Re: Horse Manure

Postby Gengulphus » October 24th, 2017, 2:47 pm

I've no actual experience with manure, but a couple of especially relevant extracts from https://www.rhs.org.uk/advice/profile?PID=865:

"Ideally materials should be in a well-rotted state, especially manures. In some cases un-rotted or partially rotted organic matter is offered; these will not look as dark or as uniform in texture and colour. On sanitary grounds these materials are best stacked, covered and used when decomposition is complete. If used fresh apply at half the usual rate and not to ground used for crops that will be eaten raw (e.g. salads)."

and:

"Organic matter can be stacked and stored for use later. Aim to make a stack on the smallest feasible 'footprint', cover with rainproof material to prevent nutrients being washed out and to exclude weed seeds, and ensure any run-off does not enter drains or ditches, and ideally be collected and applied to the garden."

Not the only parts of the link that are worth reading, by the way!

Gengulphus

ReformedCharacter
Lemon Quarter

Postby ReformedCharacter » October 24th, 2017, 4:02 pm