Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to johnstevens77,Bhoddhisatva,scotia,Anonymous,Cornytiv34, for Donating to support the site

Secret message

jfgw
Lemon Quarter

Secret message

Postby jfgw » September 25th, 2017, 2:54 pm

I am a secret agent and I have a secret message that must be delivered intact to another secret agent. It is important that no part of the message falls into the hands of the enemy so I must encrypt the message and send the ciphertext and any keys separately. Three messengers from the other secret agent will come to collect them. However, it is known that one of these messengers is a double-agent who will send copies of everything he is given to the enemy. It is also known that the enemy will send one of their own messengers who will deliver whatever I give him to the enemy but not to the other secret agent. I have no way of knowing which messenger is whom.

How can I reliably send the message without the enemy being able to read any of it?

Julian F. G. W.

UncleEbenezer
The full Lemon

Re: Secret message

Postby UncleEbenezer » September 25th, 2017, 3:29 pm

Ferchrissake, PGP is 25 years old. This is a long-solved problem!

My first thought was that it looks like the "roads to heaven and hell", where you get to ask yes/no questions, but it isn't that. The problem you have posed lacks any kind of asymmetry onto which a logical solution could be hooked. You really need some (pre-existing) shared secret, so if you're disallowing that and ruling out a public key infrastructure (or some wheeze like sending a decoy message to elicit a reaction) you're stuffed.

Unless I'm going even more senile than I realised ...

jfgw
Lemon Quarter

Postby jfgw » September 25th, 2017, 4:33 pm

UncleEbenezer wrote:Ferchrissake, PGP is 25 years old. This is a long-solved problem!