Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to Rhyd6,eyeball08,Wondergirly,bofh,johnstevens77, for Donating to support the site

ECB consider more QE

The Big Picture Place
TheMotorcycleBoy
Lemon Quarter

ECB consider more QE

Postby TheMotorcycleBoy » June 18th, 2019, 1:37 pm

Does this suggest perhaps us leaving the EU isn't so bad after all?

https://uk.reuters.com/article/uk-ecb-p ... KKCN1TJ0PK

I'm not an expert, but doesn't the need to apply QE either mean your economy is up-the-creek, or that you are financially a bit silly?

DJT doesn't seem to approve, so I suppose that it must be bad.... ;)

odysseus2000
Lemon Half

Re: ECB consider more QE

Postby odysseus2000 » June 18th, 2019, 2:02 pm

Many of the ideas and beliefs of central banks have assumed no change in global trade. Trump's use of Tariffs was, imho, not considered likely or effective and now that it has been done and had significant effects, the central banks are trying to formulate a response.

Powell at the US Fed was keen to raise rates for no obvious reason other than they used to be higher, but he has had to pause as tariffs are doing what rate rises would have done and perhaps more so that he is now apparently thinking of cutting rates.

German industry doesn't like a strong Euro making their products more expensive and so perhaps the ECB is reacting to pressure from Merkel whereas Trump sees such moves as going against his trade policy and undermining US industry.

In the sense that the ECB is trying to manage a currency for the weak Greek economy to the huge powerful German economy one can argue that being out of the Euro and out of the constraints of the EU is a blessing, but many others argue the reverse with very polarised, near religious convictions on both sides.

Regards,

TheMotorcycleBoy
Lemon Quarter

Postby TheMotorcycleBoy » June 18th, 2019, 4:51 pm

Thanks Ody