Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to johnstevens77,Bhoddhisatva,scotia,Anonymous,Cornytiv34, for Donating to support the site

Tax Rises and Inflation : Economics (not Politics)

The Big Picture Place
AWOL
Lemon Slice

Tax Rises and Inflation : Economics (not Politics)

Postby AWOL » September 8th, 2021, 9:28 am

Hi,

I was a scientist and not an economist so please excuse my economic illiteracy. Would the tax increases announced yesterday dampen demand, money supply. and spending sufficiently to offset the inflationary pressures that we are seeing in the UK economy? Traditionally the UK has been subject to higher inflation than the US but I am wondering if this is likely to dampen the domestic recovery and if there is a way of expressing this in terms of an effect on inflation.

Regards,
AWOL

pje16
Lemon Half

Re: Tax Rises and Inflation : Economics (not Politics)

Postby pje16 » September 8th, 2021, 9:33 am

I find prices going up more because of Covid, or at least that's the excuse being given
Try a Staycation and you'll see what I mean
My brother lets a property out through Hoseasons, they wanted him to put his prices up by 30% this summer
He told them where to go as he doesn't belive in ripping off his returning clients

AWOL
Lemon Slice

Postby AWOL » September 8th, 2021, 9:47 am

pje16 wrote:I find prices going up more because of Covid, or at least that's the excuse being given
My brother lets a property out through Hoseasons, they wanted him to put his prices up by 30% this summer
He told them where to go as he doesn't belive in ripping off his returning clients

Demand is outstripping supply in many areas with COVID and BREXIT effects, plus restarting from a low base, and in many areas the need to restock (that wont apply to holiday lets, I don't imagine). However if the supply of money is reduced by taxation that should have a contrary effect.

ursaminortaur
Lemon Half