Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to johnstevens77,Bhoddhisatva,scotia,Anonymous,Cornytiv34, for Donating to support the site

Cash ISA to

Financial discussion for any financial queries for Expats
PMTI

Cash ISA to

Postby PMTI » June 5th, 2018, 7:20 pm

As a former UK resident, I have a cash ISA which is about to reach it's maturity date (was fixed interest for a few years). Under the rules, no longer being a UK resident, I understand that I am free to transfer my ISA funds to another account but not allowed to pay new money in.

My question is am I allowed to transfer to a different ISA provider? For example, I'm thinking of transferring some of it to an IFISA and some to a S&S ISA, neither of which my current cash ISA provider, provides. I wondered because it would involve opening a new account, which often - especially ISA products - have the declaration that you are a UK resident.

Thanks

PMTI

stevensfo
Lemon Quarter

Re: Cash ISA to

Postby stevensfo » June 5th, 2018, 9:24 pm

For the first paragraph, yes! You cannot pay more in, but you can keep it in another ISA. You cannot open a new ISA unless you are 'resident in the UK for tax purposes'. Some people can happily live outside the UK, e.g. working in embassies, Delegations, EU delegations, UK Miltary, EU Agencies, Commission etc, but considered resident in the UK.

The rest, I don't know. There's a huge difference between being an ex-Pat in the EU and outside the EU. If you're in the EU and have any address in the UK you can use for correspondence, sister, brother, parents etc, then you're fine for keeping your accounts going. But unless, you're Res. in UK for Tax purposes, you cannot add funds to an ISA.

Steve

torata
Lemon Slice

Postby torata » June 5th, 2018, 11:16 pm

PMTI wrote:... I wondered because it would involve opening a new account, which often - especially ISA products - have the declaration that you are a UK resident.