Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to johnstevens77,Bhoddhisatva,scotia,Anonymous,Cornytiv34, for Donating to support the site

Retirement in Ireland - tax implications

Financial discussion for any financial queries for Expats
MrUnsure

Retirement in Ireland - tax implications

Postby MrUnsure » February 20th, 2020, 6:41 pm

I've been investing in ISAs for 20 years and I am now considering early retirement. I will be living off my investments.

I'm considering retiring in Ireland. I realise the ISA wrapper will not be recognised in Ireland and I will have to pay CGT on gains. As far as I can make out, the annual allowance is only €1,270 a year and the rate of taxation is 33%. If I retire in the UK my investments are effectively tax free. So I have to work out living in Ireland is worth paying the extra tax.

Am I missing anything here? Are there any other allowances or tax efficient saving schemes in Ireland?

MrUnsure

Re: Retirement in Ireland - tax implications

Postby MrUnsure » February 20th, 2020, 7:07 pm

Snorvey wrote:Dunno but why not realise the gain in the UK before you go?

Obviously I would do that but I will still be fully invested during retirement, so would hopefully be making capital gains in the future.

staffordian
Lemon Quarter

Postby staffordian » February 20th, 2020, 8:08 pm

What is the dividend tax like in Ireland?

It might be worth looking at whether reinvesting some of the gains realised on liquidating the ISA could be invested in something like an income investment trust or similar, with less chance of large capital gains, thus maximising any allowances for both income and capital gains.

PhaseThree

Postby PhaseThree » February 20th, 2020, 8:42 pm

It depends on what you're looking for but you could do what I have done - Taken early retirement and move to Northern Ireland.
UK tax system, Irish lifestyle and craic. An excellent compromise from my point of view.

MrUnsure