Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to johnstevens77,Bhoddhisatva,scotia,Anonymous,Cornytiv34, for Donating to support the site

A new user of this sites strategy

Stocks and Shares ISA , Choosing funds for ISA's, risk factors for funds etc
Investment strategy discussions not dealt with elsewhere.
IanSmithISA
Lemon Pip

A new user of this sites strategy

Postby IanSmithISA » February 28th, 2018, 8:52 am

Good morning,

I am new to LemonFool but not investing and I follow what I believe to be an uncommon strategy, I can't find anywhere on the Profile page to explain this, but without explaining it it may be hard to see the logic of my posts.

A while ago, 2006 (ish, very ish), I used to post on the Fool under a similar, possibly even the same name.

There was a thread where ngaunt or similar got quite stroppy when I was explaining that I had invested £10K in various AIM companies which had all done badly and I wasn't prepared to do what he said.

I have learnt a lot since then, hopefully, of course he was still wrong.:-)

The internet is full of information on share trading and when I started I took a lot of it to heart.

After trading for a while I began to question a lot of what I was reading as it sounded sensible but did not relate to the reality that I was seeing.

One of the reasons for the dearth of relevant information is surprisingly obvious, before on-line share dealing there were very few private share traders. So there has been a very short period of time for anyone to gain and publish their experience.

There is one thing that everybody knows and I now believe to be fundamentally wrong for the private investor
Shares should be bought for the medium or long term.

Please put Warren Buffer to one side for the moment as he is so atypical of the private investor.