Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to Rhyd6,eyeball08,Wondergirly,bofh,johnstevens77, for Donating to support the site

Portfolio Duplication or Two Portfolio's?

Stocks and Shares ISA , Choosing funds for ISA's, risk factors for funds etc
Investment strategy discussions not dealt with elsewhere.
EssDeeAitch
Lemon Slice

Portfolio Duplication or Two Portfolio's?

Postby EssDeeAitch » September 5th, 2018, 4:33 pm

Hello, I am new to self investing and would appreciate some feedback on portfolio construction.

Is there any benefit of having a totally unique portfolio for both my wife and myself or having the same portfolio twice? I would like to restrict the funds/IT's to say six or eight so as to make it more manageable but diverse at the same time. Having two unique portfolio's of course doubles the selection.

Any help would be appreciated.

argoal
2 Lemon pips

Re: Portfolio Duplication or Two Portfolio's?

Postby argoal » September 5th, 2018, 5:06 pm

EssDeeAitch wrote:Is there any benefit of having a totally unique portfolio for both my wife and myself or having the same portfolio twice?

I think portfolio construction is very much a personal issue. There is nothing inherently wrong with having different portfolios.

I can think of a number of reasons why you might have different portfolios;

1. Different risk tolerence profiles. One of you may be able to stomach more volatility/loss that the other.
2. Preference for an income strategy over a total return strategy. My wife prefers her portfolio to produce a healthy amount of dividends while I am a little more concerned with total return.
3. Different preferences for a more international or domestic focused portfolio.
4. Different time horizons. Does one of you need access to the capital sooner than the other?

I'm sure that there are other factors that may influence your final decidion on top of these.