Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to Rhyd6,eyeball08,Wondergirly,bofh,johnstevens77, for Donating to support the site

How much cash is too much cash?

Stocks and Shares ISA , Choosing funds for ISA's, risk factors for funds etc
Investment strategy discussions not dealt with elsewhere.
absolutezero
Lemon Quarter

How much cash is too much cash?

Postby absolutezero » March 18th, 2022, 5:16 pm

With inflation currently rather elevated (!), I'm seeing my cash depreciated in spending power by at least 6% a year.

My portfolio is currently 25% cash. Or stuff that's as good as cash.

- A full holding of Premium Bonds (returning an average of 1.5% a year over around 5 years so far),
- Some NS&I Index Linked Certificates (which will not be getting cashed in!)
- Cash on deposit in savings and current accounts (as close to 0% as you can get).

I am a self-employed freelancer in something that is pretty much recession proof - and if it wasn't I could easily go back to the day job that got me into this (but would rather not).
Part of the current.savings account cash is around (as I type) 15 months of living expenses.
I have no mortgage or rent to pay.

Do I have too much cash at 25% of my portfolio?

My shares are 66% of my overall portfolio.
Of which, I have around 50% of my shares in something that resembles an HYP.
12% in SIPPs that I cant access for another 15 years or so. (I'm early 40s)
35% in funds and trackers.

Weighing up drip feeding the Premium Bonds into a FTSE 100/S&P 500/Developed World tracker.

Any thoughts?

DrFfybes
Lemon Quarter

Re: How much cash is too much cash?

Postby DrFfybes » March 18th, 2022, 6:13 pm

Nobody can tell you how much cash is too much, or too little, for you.