Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to johnstevens77,Bhoddhisatva,scotia,Anonymous,Cornytiv34, for Donating to support the site

How is the annual management charge collected?

WalterWalker1912

How is the annual management charge collected?

Postby WalterWalker1912 » September 25th, 2020, 2:21 pm

I'm new to REITs (and this forum).

Could anyone tell me if the dividends are paid after the annual management charge has been deducted?

So, for instance, when I see a dividend yield on a REIT on Hargreaves Landsown's website, is that calculated after all management fees have been deducted? I would post the link, but LemonFool prevented me from doing so.

Thanks!

SalvorHardin
Lemon Quarter

Re: How is the annual management charge collected?

Postby SalvorHardin » September 25th, 2020, 2:39 pm

WalterWalker1912 wrote:I'm new to REITs (and this forum).

Could anyone tell me if the dividends are paid after the annual management charge has been deducted?

So, for instance, when I see a dividend yield on a REIT on Hargreaves Landsown's website, is that calculated after all management fees have been deducted? I would post the link, but LemonFool prevented me from doing so.

Welcome to TLF. The answer is yes; dividends on REITs are paid after charges are deducted. The quoted dividend is what you get after the charges have been taken from the REIT.

Many REITs don't have annual management charges. They are property companies which elected to be taxed as REITs some years ago. They don't have managers taking a separate fee. Examples of property companies which became REITs are British Land, Derwent London and Land Securities.

Some REITs are managed by investment managers (e.g. Schroder Real Estate Investment Trust). For these REITs the management charges are deducted before dividends are paid. Note that these charges are taken from the REITs assets, rather than separately from each investor.

jonesa1
Lemon Slice