Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to johnstevens77,Bhoddhisatva,scotia,Anonymous,Cornytiv34, for Donating to support the site

Managing (or avoiding) multiple S&S ISA accounts

Investment discussion for beginners. Why you should invest your money, get help getting started
iambic
Lemon Pip

Managing (or avoiding) multiple S&S ISA accounts

Postby iambic » October 11th, 2018, 1:26 pm

Apologies for the total newbie question, but trawling through this forum has given me so much useful insight already that I thought I'd pose the question I've been trying to figure out an answer to, in the hope that you can provide me with some guidance.

My husband & I started on our journey towards financial independence at the start of 2018 & after tons of reading, we settled on a portfolio that looks reasonably diversified & that we're happy with. Now to put it into action!

My husband opened an ISA with Vanguard & we've started putting some money into various index trackers within that account. Now I'd like to start getting some cash into some different parts of the portfolio (bonds, a property REIT, an emerging markets tracker etc.) I have an ISA with Fidelity (via Cavendish Online) already, with some money in Fundsmith Equity (have had it from before I realised how expensive active funds were...), so I was planning to buy the additional portfolio elements within my Fidelity ISA for some platform diversification & because some of the funds we want are not available on Vanguard (or cost more on Vanguard).

I know it's very early in our investing journey & I'm trying not to get carried away, but reading about HYP's & Investment Trusts has made me think about some of the other areas (apart from equity index trackers) that I'd like to learn more about & hopefully incorporate into our portfolio one day.