Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to johnstevens77,Bhoddhisatva,scotia,Anonymous,Cornytiv34, for Donating to support the site

ETFs in an ISA

Investment discussion for beginners. Why you should invest your money, get help getting started
AaronTV

ETFs in an ISA

Postby AaronTV » November 16th, 2018, 5:39 pm

Hi

I'm new to investing (soon to be 19 years old) so very little knowledge and no actual experience in the market.

I was thinking of opening up an ISA with Interactive Investor (II) as the fees seem to be decent compared to others, now initial investment was going to be £1000 and then £100 a month from them on and then just compound any money to make to grow the portfolio over time as i'm in no real rush. Now my main question is regarding ETFs, there are a lot of them all doing different things, i was looking at some that tracked the S&P 500 and a few others, now i've been reading that fees are involved in holding ETFs in an ISA. Most of the information ive seen however is regarding UK ETFs and not US ones. So some information on fees would be helpful, even if you have a link which explains them to save you regurgitating the same information.

Now my second question again regarding ETFs is that instead of going to the ETF company such as Vanguard to buy into the ETF, i was going to buy the ETF on the stock market, for example VANGUARD IX FUN/S&P 500 ETF SHS NEW (VOO). Now this is where i get confused because i read that there are a few ETFs that can actually be held in an ISA but i wasn't sure if this meant ETFs which where technically a stock as they are on the stock market.Also if this ticker symbol was even purchasable in the first place as ive only seen information regarding UK ETFs.

Sorry for the long post but any information would be extremely helpful as im quite confused, even if its pointing me in the direction of information that would be appreciated.

I look forward to your replys.

Aminatidi