Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to eyeball08,Wondergirly,bofh,johnstevens77,Bhoddhisatva, for Donating to support the site

Make your own simple hands-off investment with limited funds available?

Investment discussion for beginners. Why you should invest your money, get help getting started
ExpatBill

Make your own simple hands-off investment with limited funds available?

Postby ExpatBill » May 16th, 2019, 2:01 am

I'm new to investing, and I have limited funds available to invest, but i'd like to get started as I've been putting it off / analyzing for ages and that's costing me money.

Since I don't have a lot of time/money available, something like Betterment would be perfect, unfortunately I'm an ex-pat living in Japan and so things like that are unavailable to me. In-fact my options are pretty limited as I can't open accounts in many places in the UK. I have some money sitting in UK current accounts and a cash ISA, but these days the interest rates are terrible and the ISA is no longer tax free for me. I'm 41.

After doing some research, it seems to me that the best option would be something like this:
- Open an account at one of the 2/3 low cost traders that accepts non-uk-residents. (I'm leaning towards Degiro for ease)
- Buy general ETF funds something like Vanguard Total Market, S&P 500 or similar. 80% ish?
- Buy general Bond ETFs similar to the above. 20% ish?
- Basically set and forget, but pay in small amounts as regularly as possible.
- Maybe once a year rebalance to 80/20?

Does that sound reasonable? Would it lead to relatively similar results? Is it doing/missing anything dumb?
It'd miss out on some of the things like tax-loss-harvesting, which I half understand, but oh well.

I must admit to being a bit confused about tax and currencies.