Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to johnstevens77,Bhoddhisatva,scotia,Anonymous,Cornytiv34, for Donating to support the site

Recommendations for New Investor

Investment discussion for beginners. Why you should invest your money, get help getting started
Daffers

Recommendations for New Investor

Postby Daffers » December 29th, 2020, 3:21 pm

I am completely new to investing and I am looking for some advice on stock brokers. My plan is to manage my own portfolio so my understanding is I need a stock broker to buy them for me. Any advice on where I should look, and what are the important factors when selecting a stock broker would be greatly appreciated! Thank you!

Alaric
Lemon Half

Re: Recommendations for New Investor

Postby Alaric » December 29th, 2020, 3:28 pm

Daffers wrote: My plan is to manage my own portfolio so my understanding is I need a stock broker to buy them for me.

The world has moved on. Arguably they are technically "stockbrokers", but these days those managing a portfolio on their own account are more likely to use what would be referred to as an "online platform". There are a number of established names, the "Brokers" board on this site may give some idea, otherwise a Google search will identify the bigger names. As to which is best, it can depend how much you have to invest, what you want to invest in and how frequently you wish to buy and sell.

Urbandreamer
Lemon Quarter

Postby Urbandreamer » December 29th, 2020, 3:55 pm

There are many "brokers" out there. If you want the DIY route then you should consider "platforms" as well as stock brokers.

Stock brokers are the traditional route and provide fantastic service and a great range of services... at a not insignificant price.
Platforms offer a more cut down approach, often quite cheaply.