Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to jfgw,Rhyd6,eyeball08,Wondergirly,bofh, for Donating to support the site

Impact of Currency Movements

Investment discussion for beginners. Why you should invest your money, get help getting started
WessexBoy
Lemon Pip

Impact of Currency Movements

Postby WessexBoy » September 21st, 2017, 1:07 pm

I'm new to this and have put toe in water with some global exposure to equity indexes.

The $/£ fluctuations seem to overwhelm.

dspp
Lemon Half

Re: Impact of Currency Movements

Postby dspp » September 21st, 2017, 2:01 pm

WessexBoy wrote:I'm new to this and have put toe in water with some global exposure to equity indexes.

The $/£ fluctuations seem to overwhelm.

Short term yes (months, years). Longer term (decades) it tends to average out. But even when overwhelming it pays to remember that half the time it is the good sort of overwhelming.

regards, dspp

DiamondEcho
Lemon Quarter

Postby DiamondEcho » September 21st, 2017, 7:21 pm

These are somewhat unusual times. When Sterling rallies, it being negatively correlated to the FTSE-100 earnings (broadly speaking), it's bad for the index. Hence BoE sabre-rattling re: interest tax rises is one element of FTSE negativity and volatility. IMO we're getting a solid dose of that this week.

LooseCannon101
Lemon Slice

Postby LooseCannon101 » September 21st, 2017, 11:41 pm

I wouldn't worry too much about currency movements so long as you have broad equity exposure that equates roughly to that of a world equity index.

The pound might fluctuate by +/-10% as compared to the US dollar but your equities will retain their purchasing power, similar to that before the currency movement.

WessexBoy
Lemon Pip

Postby WessexBoy » September 22nd, 2017, 9:52 pm