Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to eyeball08,Wondergirly,bofh,johnstevens77,Bhoddhisatva, for Donating to support the site

What is a reasonable hourly rate for a l6 yr old who helps in the garden

Straight answers to factual questions
Forum rules
Direct questions and answers, this room is not for general discussion please
Bouleversee
Lemon Quarter

What is a reasonable hourly rate for a l6 yr old who helps in the garden

Postby Bouleversee » May 8th, 2018, 2:01 pm

and does other odd jobs in the South of England (Bucks)?

I have been employing a young lad for the past l8 months or so. What little he knows about gardening I have taught him but not all that much is retained. He seems incapable of recognising a weed even when I am pointing to and describing them, but is OK at mowing the lawn most of the time with my petrol mower. I haven't increased his pay because frankly I was paying him more than he was worth at the outset and much more than local shops were paying youngsters and wages for experienced workers weren't going up much if at all, though I have given him generous presents. However, he is now asking for a rise which I agree is now due but it is a question of how much. I think he is going to be l7 in the Autumn and he thinks he is worth £9 hr which seems a lot to me in relation to the Minimum Wage Rate and the standard of his work.