Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to eyeball08,Wondergirly,bofh,johnstevens77,Bhoddhisatva, for Donating to support the site

Unions in workplaces that are non unionised.

Straight answers to factual questions
Forum rules
Direct questions and answers, this room is not for general discussion please
didds
Lemon Half

Unions in workplaces that are non unionised.

Postby didds » October 6th, 2020, 9:29 am

in another thread which i dont wish to derail, a suggestion has been made that an employee with a grievance involve their union, or join one.

My question is ... what if the employer works in an industry/arena that isnt "unionised" and doesn't (for want of a better word) recognise them?

I'm sure as an IT professional I could join a union (the TUC website suggests two that appear logical - both very broad church though). I'm totally unaware of any of my colleagues belonging to a union.

If I joined a union and they went to my employers, why would my employers "have" to engage with them? (Of course the union may provide other services such as legal advice to me)

I should hasten to add I have no dispute with my employers at all :-) This is purely a hypothetical scenario :-)

didds

Lootman
The full Lemon

Re: Unions in workplaces that are non unionised.

Postby Lootman » October 6th, 2020, 9:38 am

My first "proper" job after leaving Uni in 1976 was for a major insurer, and we were unionised. At the time it was ASTMS and was the union for salaried, technical and managerial staff, as the acronym implies. They conducted all salary and benefits negotiations, and represented individuals with a grievance. Membership was not compulsory but everyone knew it was better to join than opt out. At one point we were militating for a 2-day strike but it never happened in the end.